09:00 – 09:30 Opening Ceremony Invited Speaker
Dr. Enrique Rojas
Tech Fair Projects
09:30 – 10:00 IEEE Distinguished
Dr. Jade Morton
10:00 – 10:30 IEEE Distinguished
Dr. K.V.S. Hari
10:30 – 11:00 Invited Speaker
Dr. José Bellido
11:00 – 11:30 SP-1 AE-6
11:30 – 12:00 AE-1 SP-2 AE-7
12:00 – 12:30 AE-2 SP-3 AE-8
12:30 – 13:00 AE-3
13:00 – 13:30 Lunch Break
13:30 – 14:00
14:00 – 14:30
14:30 – 15:00

IGP – Jicamarca Radio

Observatory Workshop

Invited Speaker
M. Sc. Jeff Berner

Forum: Satellite

Technology and

Connectivity Gap in Peru

15:00 – 15:30
15:30 – 16:00 AE-4
16:00 – 16:30 AE-5
16:30 – 17:00 CLOSING CEREMONY

INCAS 2021 Conference Chair:
Dr. Martin F. Sarango
Chair, IEEE Peru Aerospace and Electronics Systems & Signal Processing Jt. Chapter

Day 1: November 28, 2021

Morning session: Marco Milla
Afternoon session: Danny Scipión

09:00 – 09:30 OPEN CEREMONY
09:30 – 10:30 IEEE Distinguished Lecturer: Dr. Jade Morton
Professor, Helen and Hubert Croft Professor, Director of CCAR
University of Colorado Boulder, USA
Title: Satellite Navigation and Sensing
10:30 – 11:30 Invited Speaker: Dr. José Bellido
Senior Research Associate
University of Adelaide, Australia
Title: Signal Processing in a Gamma Ray Observatory
11:30 – 12:00 AE-1: Analysis of the nighttime lower ionosphere by monitoring VLF waves propagation in Antarctic
Authors: Jorge Samanes, Jose Gamonal, Emilia Correia, and Ricardo Y. C. Cueva
12:00 – 12:30 AE-2: Spectral Analysis of Incoherent Scatter Radar Signals in Faraday/Double Pulse Experiments at the Jicamarca Radio Observatory
Authors: Roberto Flores, Marco Milla, and Karim Kuyeng
12:30 – 13:00 AE-3: Development of a VLF receiver based on RedPitaya board for space weather studies
Authors: Luis Otiniano, Aldo Arriola, Juan Vega, and Jorge Samanes
13:00 – 14:30 Lunch Break
14:30 – 17:00 IGP – Jicamarca Radio Observatory Workshop
Dr. Danny Scipión
Jicamarca Radio Observatory Director
Instituto Geofísico del Perú, Peru

Day 2: November 29, 2021

Morning session: Pablo Raul Yanyachi
Afternoon session: Duveen Rivera & Martín Sarango

09:00 – 10:00 Invited Speaker: Dr. Enrique Rojas
Postdoctoral Associate

Earth & Atmospheric Sciences, Cornell University, USA
Title: Revisiting ionospheric forecasting and estimation: Applications to ionograms, storms, and density reconstruction
10:00 – 11:00 IEEE Distinguished Lecturer: Dr. K.V.S. Hari
Vice President-Membership, IEEE Signal Processing Society
Professor, Indian Institute of Science, Bangalore, India
Title: Experiments in Sensing and Signal Processing for Autonomous Navigation
11:00 – 11:30 SP-1: Faster R-CNN with a cross-validation approach to object detection in radar images
Authors: Rosa Gonzales-Martínez, Javier Machacuay, Pedro Rotta, and César Chinguel
11:30 – 12:00 SP-2: A web decision support system for banana farmers centralizing information from different weather stations
Authors: Iván Belupú and William Ipanaqué
12:00 – 12:30 SP-3: Multi-objective Optimization in the selection of a CubeSat PayLoad
Authors: Benjamín Barán, Bruno Ortiz Martínez, and Michel Barán
12:30 – 14:30 Lunch Break
14:30 – 15:30 Invited Speaker: M.Sc. Jeff Berner
Deep Space Network Project Chief Engineer
Jet Propulsion Laboratory – NASA, USA
Title: Deep Space Network (DSN)
15:30 – 16:00 AE-4: Comparison and Evaluation Between a Low-cost IMU and INS VN-300 in AHRS mode
Authors: Jorch Mendoza Choquemamani, Brayan Espinoza-Garcia, Pablo R. Yanyachi, and Juan Carlos Cutipa Luque
16:00 – 16:30 AE-5: Estimation of flooded areas during the El Niño Costero 2017 event using multisensor satellite data. Case Study: Lower Piura watershed (Peru)
Authors: Jesus Miguel Quintana Ortiz, Jose Jesus Pasapera Gonzales and Rodolfo Domingo Moreno Santillan

Day 3: November 30, 2021

Morning session: Avid Román-González
Afternoon session: Robert Perea and Martín Sarango

09:00 – 11:00

Tech Fair Projects:

  • Universidad Católica San Pablo
    • Project 1: Modeling and design and control of an Air-bearing table testbed for nano-satellite and micro-satellite platforms
      Researcher: MSc Josué Pareja Contreras (presented by Dr. Eber Huanca)
    • Project 2: Design and implementation of an on-board computer subsystem for nano-satellites
      Researcher: MSc Angela Rendon Garcia (presented by Dr. Eber Huanca)
    • Project 3: Modeling and synthesis of the electrical power subsystem for nano satellites
      Researcher: MSc Cesar Valdivia Cuentas (presented by Dr. Eber Huanca)
  • Universidad Nacional de San Agustín
    • Project 4: Development of an Autonomous Surface Vehicle for Monitoring Water Quality
      Researcher: Dr. Juan Carlos Cutipa
    • Project 5: Surface Temperature in Arequipa using LANDSAT 8 satellite images
      Researcher: Eng. Anatoly Kevynn Rodriguez
    • Project 6: Supercomputer Applications in Satellite Image Processing
      Researcher: Eng. Ronald Apaza Veliz
    • Project 7: Small satellites for reaching Sustainable Development Goals (SDG) in Peru – UNSAsat-1
      Researcher: Mg. Gerson Cuba
11:00 – 11:30 AE-6: Design of a Programmable Radar Controller ASIC on VHDL for a Modular Radar System
Authors: Joaquin Verastegui, Ivan Manay, Edgardo Pacheco, and Marco Milla
11:30 – 12:00 AE-7: SOPHy: Scanning-system for Observations of Peruvian Hydrometeorological-events
Authors: Juan C. Espinoza, Danny Scipion, Alexander Valdez, and Joaquin Verastegui
12:00 – 12:30 AE-8: UAV’s Applications for row and field crop Phenotyping and Mapping in Majes-Arequipa
Authors: Pablo R. Yanyachi and Brayan Espinoza-Garcia
12:30 – 14:30 Lunch Break
14:30 – 16:30 Forum: Satellite technology proposals to reduce the connectivity gap in Peru
Dr. Martín F. Sarango
2021 Chair, IEEE-Peru Aerospace and Electronic Systems & Signal Processing Jt. Chapter
BID-PCM Consultor – Telecommunications and Digital Transformation

1. Eng. Marushka Chocobar Reyes
Secretaría de Gobierno y Transformación Digital
Presidencia del Consejo de Ministros, Peru

2. Dr. Modesto Montoya Zavaleta
Presidente del Instituto Peruano de Energía Nuclear
Consejero Presidencial en Materia Científica – Despacho Presidencial, Peru

1. Eng. Wilfredo Fanola Merino
Presidente de la Comisión de Conectividad Satelital
Colegio de Ingenieros del Perú

2. MBA Christian Chee Cucalón
Vice Presidente Comercial y Desarrollo de Negocios – GILAT Perú
Docente Universitario – Pontificia Universidad Católica del Perú

3. Eng. Daniel Díaz Ataucuri
Director Ejecutivo – INICTEL-UNI
Docente UNMSM & UNI

4. Eng. Edwin Santos Esparza
Oficina de Integración y Transformación Digital de la Mancomunidad Regional de los Andes
Ex Vice Ministro de Comunicaciones, Peru

5. Eng. Kevin Cohen
Managing Director, VIASAT – Global Communications



16:30 – 17:00 CLOSING CEREMONY